top of page

Director - André Strydom


Born in South Africa, André began organ, composition, and vocal studies in high school.  In 1982, he founded the Johannesburg Chamber Choir and Orchestra which he conducted for ten years. André was on the medical staff of Johannesburg General Hospital’s Department of Cardiology from 1985-1991, but left medicine to pursue a career in music. He received his Licentiate Diploma (LTCL) in piano teaching from Trinity College of Music (UK), then came to the US in 1992, where he obtained a Master of Music degree from the University of Central Arkansas.

André was selected to participate in the 1998 Karelia International Conducting Master Class in St. Petersburg and Petrozavodsk, Russia. He returned to Russia the next three summers to continue conducting studies at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. 

In 2002 André was appointed Minister of Music and Principal Organist at the First Presbyterian Church of Pine Bluff, Arkansas, where he directed a diverse music program.  He also conducted several musical theater performances, and was adjunct professor of music at the University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff from 2007 to 2013.

In 2013, André became Director of Music and Organist at the First Presbyterian Church of Bentonville, Arkansas, where he also regularly performed as Principal Pianist with the Symphony Orchestra of Northwest Arkansas.  In 2018, André became Organist and Director of Music Ministries at Emmanuel Episcopal Church in Petoskey. He has performed at the Bay View Music Festival and became Chorusmaster of the GLCO in 2020, which he prepared for this year’s performance of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony


André joined the Little Traverse Choral Society as Director in 2022.

LTCS 2022-2023 

Board of Directors

​President - Frank Nemecek 
 Vice President - Drex George 
 Executive Director - Julie Falls 
Music Director - Andre Strydom 
   Secretary - Maureen Delaney -Lehman
Treasurer - Carol Bosche
 Librarian - Carolyn Klender
 Website Design - Ruth Music
Poster Art - Millie Janka
 Bobbie Barger​
Ellen Kendall

 Scott Smith​

 Cheryl Staats

bottom of page